Headshot NK 2021

The Student of Distinction Award 2020 recognizes a graduating pharmacy student that has exhibited strong leadership qualities and a commitment to advancing the profession of pharmacy throughout their academic career. 


Nastaran has gone above and beyond, organizing educational sessions, collaborating with pharmacy and other health care providers. During her tenure as Vice-President and later President of the Oncology Pharmacy Interest Group at the University of Waterloo, she encouraged collaboration and sought input from fellow executives. As a mentor and leader, Nastaran worked tirelessly to advocate on behalf of the profession and promote interprofessional education for the student body. 

She brought forward new ideas and spearheaded the 2018 Annual Interprofessional Geriatric Conference which drew together medical, nursing, optometry, and pharmacy students. Her efforts are led by her desire to offer guidance, expertise, and provide pharmacy students with unique opportunities to develop their interpersonal and professional skills.  


Throughout her training, she gained experience in a variety of settings including community pharmacy, an outpatient cancer center, hospital pharmacy, and long-term care consulting. She currently works as a Pharmacist for Shoppers Drug Mart and has worked as a member of the pharmacy professional services team at their head office in Toronto. In addition, Nastaran is a Medical Science Liaison for AbbVie, A Pharmaceutical Research & Development company. Nastaran has been the recipient of several awards for her leadership, research, and community service contributions including the CPhA Centennial Leadership Award, the CAPhO Student Award as well as the University of Waterloo Faculty of Science Foundation G.F. Atkinson Citizenship Award. Nastaran is a 2020 PharmD graduate of the University of Waterloo.